Thursday, October 31, 2013

Blog Tour (Guest Post & Giveaway): Relic by Heather Terrell



Title: Relic (Books of Eva #1)
Author:
Heather Terrell
Publisher: Soho Teen
Release Date: October 29, 2013

The truth will test you...

For fans of
Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.

When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.

Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.

But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.


Heather Terrell's Guest Post

I often dream about the apocalypse. Not really the actual cataclysmic event itself -- a tsunami or a terrorist attack or nuclear warfare or something even my active imagination can’t contemplate -- but my steps to prepare for it. In these dreams, I am racing about gathering all the necessary things for a post-apocalyptic world -- medicines, food stores, money, fuel, and even weaponry. The most nightmarish part of these dreams is that I am scrambling to ready myself and my family, but I know that I’m running out of time. That I won’t be able to gather everything that we need before the event happens, and it’s too late. I suppose it’s no coincidence that I write about a post-global warming world in my newest novel Relic.

Buy Links
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Fishpond

Read my review of Relic HERE!



About the Author




Heather Terrell worked as a commercial litigator in New York City for over ten years, but she has always been obsessed with myth, lore, and the gap between history and the truth. This preoccupation has led to several loosely factual historical novels (The Chrysalis, The Map Thief, Brigid of Kildare) and the pure-lore Fallen Angel series. Relic is the first installment of The Books of Eva series. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family.

Visit her at www.heatherterrell.com.





Links
Website | Facebook | Free Prequel

Giveaway

The wonderful people at Soho Teen are offering up a copy of Relic for one lucky reader of Bibliophilia, Please. All you have to do is fill out this fancy, handy-dandy Rafflecopter form!

US or Canada Only
Ends at 12:01am EST on November 14th

a Rafflecopter giveaway

18 comments:

  1. This sounds awesome! Congrats to Heather on the new release and thanks for sharing! Definitely going on my want list :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book looks and sounds awesome thanks for the great giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome! Thanks for reading about the book!

      Delete
  3. I entered your giveaway.
    It would be great to win a copy of Relic by Heather Terrell.
    I enjoy reading and discovering new authors .
    Thank you for having this giveaway!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome! I'm so glad that you stopped by to check out Relic!

      Delete
  4. I entered your giveaway.
    It would be great to win a copy of Relic by Heather Terrell.
    I enjoy reading and discovering new authors .
    This looks like an interesting book.
    Thank you for having this giveaway!!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds interesting

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was very interesting - I hope you get a chance to read it.

      Delete
  6. Sounds like an interesting concept. I always like to read something new :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Congratulations on the publication of Relic! It sounds like a fascinating book. Thanks for the great giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This book looks amazing! I have heard so many good things about it and it would be absolutely amazing to win! Fingers crossed!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the giveaway, I'm very excited about this book. I'd hate to keeping dreaming about the apocalypse but at least she got a great idea out of those dreams.

    ReplyDelete

You are going to put words in my box?! *squeezes you* Now I shall stalk YOUR blog!