Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: Books If You Like This TV Show or Movie

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Books If You Like This TV Show or Movie

1. The Face of Deception (Eve Duncan #1) and Bones

One of the first things I remember thinking about the TV show Bones was that one of the characters, Angela, reminded me of the Eve Duncan series. It's been a really long time since I've read the series since I read it in high school, but I remember loving it. Eve is a forensic sculptor who reconstructs the skulls of deceased people for identification purposes. Angela does a similar job but with more technology and less putty.

2. First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson #1) by Darynda Jones and One for the Money

Charley Davidson is pretty much the paranormal version of Stephanie Plum. Stephanie is a little more accident prone and spastic, while Charley is a little more snarky and absent minded. And while Stephanie is a bounty hunter, Charley is a private eye with a little help from the other side.

3. Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods #1) by Melissa de la Cruz and Gossip Girl

When I first started reading the Blue Bloods series, my first thoughts were that it was just like Gossip Girl, but with vampires. The later books aren't like Gossip Girl, but the beginning of the series is.

4. Emma by Jane Austen and Clueless

So, this is cheating a little because Clueless is based on Emma anyway.

5. No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark #3) by Kresley Cole and The Amazing Race

Several of the beginning books in the series reference or concern the race from Immortals After Dark, but I think that this is the book in the series that covers it the most. To me, the contest is just like an immortal creature version of The Amazing Race, if there was a whole of sex involved.

6. Skinwalker (Jane Yellowrock #1) by Faith Hunter and True Blood

They're both set in Louisiana and concern paranormal creatures, including vampires. The Jane Yellowrock series is a darker urban series, and I like it a lot more, but if you like True Blood then you should definitely check it out.

7. Dance Upon the Air (Three Sisters Island #1) by Nora Roberts and Charmed

Charmed is probably one of my all-time favorite TV shows (up there with Friends and Sex and the City), so I knew that it had to go on this list. I finally decided on a Nora Roberts trilogy, because no one does trilogies, especially with families that love or hate each other, like Nora Roberts. And this trilogy is about a group of women who are descendants of witches and must break a curse.

8. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman and Alice in Wonderland

Neverwhere is the London version with a male protagonist.

9. The Selection (The Selection #1) and The Bachelor

The basic underlying premise of The Selection is The Bachelor in a dystopian world.

10. The Long Walk by Stephen King and The Hunger Games

I read The Long Walk quite recently and could see the similarities in the stories. I've also seen some comparison's to one of King's other works, The Running Man.

What Books Remind You of Certain Movies or TV Shows?


  1. I completely agree with you Bachelor to The Selection link, but get this! I HATE the Bachelor, but am in love The Selection... go figure!

    1. Me too! Hate The Bachelor, that is.... I just hate reality TV in general. But there is just something about The Selection that draws me in. I'm so happy that The One will be out next week!

  2. Iris Johanson's books are really good. The Selection to the Bachelor was on mine too!
    Here's My TTT


You are going to put words in my box?! *squeezes you* Now I shall stalk YOUR blog!